Don't like advertisements? Neither do we. Check out our Premium Membership to support GlobalTuners and get rid of the advertisements!
View page:  <  1  2  > 
Message from Kai at Monday, 10-Oct-11 01:53:43 GMT
I am a radio amateur but I'm moving in a few days and I don't get back for at least six months. I don't have time to check it out, my soldering gear is packed.

In case you're not aware of WA's geography, I'm 2,000k's from Perth and about the same from Darwin so, either way, if the uni's in one of those places I'd still need to send the radio away for a few weeks...
Message from mrhoover at Monday, 10-Oct-11 07:23:29 GMT
Well I'm sure AceB was only being helpful and learnt some geography when he went to school and took into consideration that there's a postal service between Broome and Perth to span the 2,000KM to transport the receiver.

If it's down for a few weeks well it's saving a lot of money,
There's no guarantee if you put a new receiver in there that it doesn't get zapped by lightning fairly quickly which wouldn't be covered by the warranty.
Message from Kai at Monday, 10-Oct-11 07:34:30 GMT
Hehe, yes, there is a postal service between Broome and Perth but it takes forever and but AceB's location is listed as the UK, that was the reason I mentioned the distance so he's aware it's not so simple as just walking to the local uni :)

I saw an FT-847D advertised in a mailing list but they wanted $780 AUD for it, that's practically new price...
Message from AceB at Tuesday, 11-Oct-11 14:51:50 GMT
I am aware of WAs geography as I've worked in Perth and Freemantle a couple of times but I was assuming you had a postal or courier service that covers even the western bits of Australia, I didn't expect you to hand deliver it ;)
Message from radioresearch at Wednesday, 19-Oct-11 23:06:56 GMT
Gents,

Have we reache3d a consensus on what the plan is to replace/repair this radio? I am still willing to contribute, since it is in a critical area for me.